SoulSurfers.info > Места катания > Канарские острова > Тенерифе

Тенерифе

Самый большой из Канарских островов, Тенерифе отличается разнообразием ландшафта и климатических зон. Самая высокая точка Испании, спящий вулкан Тейде, находится посреди острова. Пейзаж меняется по мере приближения к вершине: пышная зелень, леса, и потом лунный пейзаж выше зоны облаков. Кроме того, северная часть Тенерифе более зеленая, чем южная, поскольку облака часто задерживаются там в долинах и оставляют свою влагу. На юге Тенерифе погода теплая, сухая и солнечная.

Санта Крус, столица Тенерифе, расположен на севере острова. В южной части Тенерифе находятся известные туристические зоны Лас Америкас и Лос Кристианос, предлагающие большой выбор размещения, ресторанов, баров и развлечений. По всему южному побережью разбросаны курорты поменьше: Коста дель Силенсио, Эль Медано, Лос Гиантес.

Эль Медано, находящийся примерно в 10 километрах от аэропорта, - это столица виндсерфинга на Тенерифе. Бывший рыбачий поселок, Эль Медано пошел по собственному пути развития, совершенно отличному от коммерческих курортов. Типичные узкие улочки, городская площадь, рыбачьи лодочки в маленькой гавани создают свою особую атмосферу. Лас Америкас с его толпами пляжников и бурлящей ночной жизнью всего в 20 минутах езды, но здесь в Эль Медано порой забываешь об их существовании.

карта тенерифе

Виндсерфинг на Тенерифе

В Эль Медано (Эль Медано, кстати, означает "песчаная дюна") ветер дует вдоль берега (cross shore) с левой стороны. Волны высотой 1 м, максимум 2 м. Прямо рядом с городом находится вторая бухта, Эль Кабесо. Как правило, в Эль Кабесо более сильный ветер и волны больше, это место для более опытных серферов. Выходить за пределы бухт в океан не рекомендуется из-за сильного течения и волн. Для начинающих Эль Медано не самый лучший выбор, поскольку волны действительно сильные и без навыков водного старта кататься довольно трудно.

Матчасть и прокаты

Surf Center Playa Sur (www.surfcenter.el-medano.com) - находится при отеле Playa Sur, оборудование Naish.

Fun Factory/Fanatic Board Center (www.fanatic.el-medano.com) - расположен рядом с пляжем Эль Кабесо. Доски Fanatic, паруса Gaastra.

Кайтсерфинг на Тенерифе

Честно говоря, Эль Медано - не самое лучшее место на свете для кайта. Бухта Эль Кабесо из-за узкого места старта и камней подходит только для опытных кайтеров. Спот рядом с отелем Playa Sur в бухте Эль Медано - более удачный выбор, так как пляж здесь немного длиннее и старт более удобный.

Отчеты о поездках

Только что вернулись с Канар? Поделитесь впечатлениями с нами и другими серферами! Напишите короткий отзыв: что вам понравилось? Чтобы вы посоветовали другим путешественникам?
Ваше мнение важно для других!
Прислать отчет >>

SoulSurfers.info > Destinations > Canary Islands > Tenerife

Tenerife

The biggest of the Canary Islands, Tenerife features the diversity of landscapes and climate zones. The tallest peak of Spain, dormant volcano Teide (3817 m above sea level), sits in the center of the island. The landscape changes as you go up to the peak: abundant vegetation, big forests, and lunar like landscapes in the height zone over clouds. Besides, the North of Tenerife is much greener than the South, because the clouds of the Passat winds are often blocked in the valleys, leaving humidity. In the South of Tenerife the weather is warm, dry and sunny.

Tenerife's capital, Santa Cruz de Tenerife is located on the north of the island. The southern part of Tenerife houses the well-known touristic zones Playa de las Americas and Los Cristianos with its wide variety of lodgings, restaurants, bars, and nightlife. All along the southern coast of Tenerife, there are other smaller resorts, such as Costa del Silencio, El Medano and Los Giantes.

El Medano, located about 10 km from Tenerife South Airport, is a windsurfing capital of Tenerife. Originally a fishing village, El Medano has developed in a style of its own, completely different to the commercial resorts. The typical narrow streets, pleasant town square, fishermen boats in the small harbour create a special atmosphere. Las Americas with its overcrowded beaches and hopping nightlife is only 20 minutes away, but here in El Medano you almost forget about its existance.

Tenerife map

Windsurfing on Tenerife

El Medano (which, by the way, means sand dune) features a cross shore wind and average swells of 1 metre (max 2 metres). Next to the town there is another bay, called El Cabezo. Generally, the wind is stronger and the waves are bigger in El Cabezo. This spot is for experienced surfers. Sailing outside of the bays is not advisable due to strong currents and swells. For beginners, El Medano is not the perfect choice, since the waves can be really strong and waterstart skills are highly recommended. There are several surf centers in El Medano:

Surf Center Playa Sur is located at the Hotel Playa Sur and offers Naish equipment.
Contacts: Surf Center Playa Sur

The Official Test Centre (OTC Windsurf) is located also not far from the Hotel Playa Sur, adjacent to Flash Point bar. It offers a wide range of windsurfing equipment, such as RRD, Goya, Starboard, Tabou, Mistral, JP.
Contacts: The Official Test Centre

Kitesurfing on Tenerife

To tell the truth, El Medano is not the best place in the world for kiteboarding. A small launch area and the proximity of rocks at the end of El Cabezo bay make this spot suitable for experienced kiters only. The spot near Hotel Playa Sur is a better choice, since the beach here is a bit longer and provides better launch.

Reports & reviews

Have been on Tenerife recently? Share your experiences with us and other surfers! Write a brief review: what was the best of your travel and what was the worst? What is your advice to travellers?
Your opinion is important for others!
Write a review >>