> Destinations > Hawaii > Travel Info

Hawaii: Travel Info

The island group of Hawaii lies 3860km (2400 miles) off mainland USA, comprised of 132 islands and atolls. Hawaii consists of eight main islands - Big Island (also named Hawaii), Oahu, Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Kauai, Kahoolawe and Niihau.

Hawaii is the 50th state (entered Union in 1959). The capital of the state of Hawaii is Honolulu, situated on Oahu Island.

Population of the state of Hawaii consists of: 32% mixed ethnicity, 22% Caucasian, 22% Japanese, 12% Filipino, 5% Chinese, 1% Hawaiian. State resident population: 1,211,537.

Entry requirements:
Hawaii is the territory of the USA. Please check the visa requirements for Hawaii at the USA embassy in your country.

Getting there and around:

Honolulu International Airport (HNL), on the island of Oahu, is a major Pacific hub and an intermediate stop on many flights between the US mainland and Asia, Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific. Hawaiian islands (except small Niihau and Kahoolawe) have their own airports, so the transportation between islands is quite easy.

There are ferries between Hawaii islands. Each island (except small Niihau and Kahoolawe) has bus transportation, but the best way to explore Hawaii islands is to rent a car.

Reports & reviews

Have been on Hawaii recently? Share your experiences with us and other surfers! Write a brief review: what was the best of your travel and what was the worst? What is your advice to travellers?
Your opinion is important for others!
Write a review >>